WK 3 6165 Communicating Effectively

Communication is the process by which we use symbols, signs, and behaviors to exchange information (O’Hair et al., 2015, p. 4).

communication

I have discovered that when I communicate with others I will change according to the group, culture, environment, or social setting that I am in.  In my work environment, I tend to keep a professional tone and I stick with business in this environment. When I am around friends or family I am more relaxed and I don’t have to be professional or guarded. In the classroom when I communicate with the children. I always get on the child’s level.  I speak to them with words that they clearly understand, allowing them to express themselves and to be a part of the conversation.

Twice a week we have new parent orientation. During this time all of the paperwork is taken care of,  I go over policies, rules etc. Many times it’s very easy to do because the families are easy to speak to.

Do you find yourself communicating differently with people from different groups and cultures?

Sometimes we encounter families from other countries and those are the times that I become culturally aware of differences. So I listen more intently. This week with the Japanese family I spoke with the mother didn’t speak English so I spoke to the husband and he interpreted. Through this situation, I gave reassuring smiles and nodded my head a lot. The context of my message to her was that she was welcome at any time at the center and her daughter would be safe, and well cared for.

If yes, in what ways do you communicate differently?

I think about the message going out and how the person getting it will receive it.

I listen carefully before responding back to the person.

I am respectful of cultural differences.

5 thoughts on “WK 3 6165 Communicating Effectively

  1. I agree that when working with children you must get on their level to communicate effectively. At my center We also have a few students who speak English as a second language thus making communication challenging at times. However, I have been working with another coworker (Mrs. Anna)for over six months to learn basic Spanish skills to help communicate with parents and families. Mrs. Anna has been a great help to the center, children, parents and other teachers to help with the language barriers/cultural differences too. But we have all worked hard together to make everyone feel welcomed, loved and feel apart of a family. Great post.
    Misty Rolland

    Like

  2. I agree Sylvia, it is important for us to remain professional and to speak with a pleasant tone while at work. I often have to remind my younger co workers of this because sometimes they forget they are at work, and begin to speak and laugh loud as if they were at home. I try to guide them in the right direction because I am much older, and I feel with guidance and time they will understand why I am constantly asking them be more professional because you never know who may me watching or listening,.

    Like

  3. Sylvia
    I enjoyed reading your blog post. I agree with your post. I like when you post, I tend to keep a professional tone with business in this environment. I agree you have to be very professional communication in early childhood development field and all other business. When you around friends or family, you can say whatever you want to say and when you want to say. Also, you can crack more joke and be funny around friend and family.
    Iesha

    Like

  4. Hello Sylvia,
    Our communication changes for our different audiences. However, if we can remember what we learned this week about the Platinum Rule, we can be successful with all different types of people. During your orientation with that family, it was great that you used non-verbal communication with the mother and kept smiling and eye contact. I can imagine that those gestures made her feel apart of the conversation even though her husband was translating. Great post.
    Best Regards,
    Alisa Oliver

    Like

  5. i enjoyed reading your post. I also feel as though I also communicate based on the culture or environment I am in. Even though I am friendly and nice I still kept it professional when dealing families and co workers. I think that it is important to maintain that because it helps to built respect and understanding for the work that we do.

    Like

Leave a comment